PROPERTY, EQUIPMENT & FACILITIES
Commercial Driver’s License
The Uniform Commercial Driver’s License Act no longer exempts University employees from the requirement of hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) if the employee operates a vehicle which weights over 26,000 pounds, hauls hazardous materials, or is designed to transport 16 or more persons, including the driver.
Drivers currently holding a State of Missouri chauffeur’s or operator’s license may continue to perform their jobs under the law until the date their license is renewed or unit April 1, 1992.
Application for Commercial Driver’s License
Drivers are responsible for license fees. The University will not pay the CDL license fee.
Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers
Drivers of commercial motor vehicles in any of the following classification are required to take certain test before renewing their Missouri driver’s license.
The commercial driver’s license will have specific endorsements for special conditions:
The commercial driver’s license may also carry specific restrictions:
- Air Brake: If a driver does not take the written air brake test, a restriction to drive a vehicle without air brakes will be placed on the license. If a road test is required, the test must be taken in a vehicle equipped with air brakes.
Drivers possessing a chauffeur’s license or operator’s license will not be eligible to obtain the commercial driver’s license (CDL) until the current license expires or until April 1, 1992.
The number of written tests a driver must take depends on the classifications, conditions, and restrictions the driver seeks. To pass, the driver must receive a score of 80 percent or better on each test. Drivers cannot expect to pass the test based on experience alone. Manuals are available at Highway Patrol examination stations.
If the pre-trip, basic controls and road tests are not waived, the driver must schedule the tests in advance with the State Highway Patrol.
- A University employee may use a University vehicle for the CDL road test; however, should the employee fail the first road test, the use of a University vehicle is not permitted for retesting [See also: 6:080 Use of University Vehicles.]
Traffic Violation Convictions
Any conviction for traffic violations, other than parking, occurring while operating a commercial vehicle must be reported by the staff member to the Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver’s License Bureau, Jefferson City, Missouri and to the employee’s University supervisor within 30 days of conviction.
Where to Find More Information
Contact Operations (573-882-4097), 305 Jesse Hall, for additional information about commercial driver’s licenses.